Janice Weiner, Executive Director

Janice practiced law before joining the U.S. State Department in 1987. Her postings included East Berlin, Turkey, Belgium, Poland, Canada, Mexico, as Consul General in Düsseldorf, Germany, and liaison to Capitol Hill. After retirement, she worked for the American Foreign Service Association before moving home to Iowa. She speaks a number of foreign languages and, while in the Foreign Service, nominated many contacts for IVLPs.

In the Foreign Service, Janice forged relationships across the political spectrum, with all walks of life, listening and analyzing, taking all points of view into consideration. She dealt with NGOs, multiple levels of government, businesses, academics and journalists alike.

Janice is a newly-elected at-large member of Iowa City City Council. Until December 2019, she served on the board of Shelter House. She continues to serve on the boards of Agudas Achim Synagogue, UNA/UNA Johnson County, and the Johnson County Democrats. She plays with the Community Band and sings with the “Heartbeats” Hospice Singers. She has two grown daughters and is her young granddaughter’s guardian


Holly Harris, Program Coordinator

Holly Harris is a fourth-year undergraduate at the University of Iowa double majoring in International Studies and Portuguese, obtaining a nonprofit leadership and philanthropy certificate, and a Spanish minor. After completing a Rotary Youth exchange year in Brazil, she is interested in learning about cultures, new languages, and making connections around the world. She enjoys traveling and being outdoors in her free time. After she graduates in December 2021, she hopes to pursue an international career at the State Department and teach English in Brazil as a Fulbright scholar. 

Abby Fowler, Communications Coordinator

Abby Fowler is a second-year undergraduate at the University of Iowa double majoring in International Studies and Japanese.  Hailing from North Liberty, Iowa, she enjoys traveling, reading, listening to music, and playing tennis in her free time. Abby plans on studying abroad in Japan and hopes to take up a career in international business after graduation.


Hannah Huisman, Program Intern

Hannah Huisman is a recent graduate from the University of Iowa, majoring in International Studies and Japanese Studies with a minor in Korean Studies.  She is originally from Dyersville, Iowa and spent an exchange year in Japan during high school. Hannah enjoys traveling, trying new foods, and baking. In the near future, she is hoping to teach English in Japan or Korea, or pursue another international career.

Dylan Morgan, Communications Intern

Dylan Morgan is a third-year undergraduate student at the University of Iowa, studying political science and international relations with a minor in ceramics. In his free time, he enjoys making pottery, traveling, swimming, and helping coach his high school debate team. He hopes to pursue a political or international career after graduation. 

Katie Kustes, Membership/Fundraising Intern

Katie Kustes is a third-year undergraduate at the University of Iowa majoring in Social Work. She is originally from Bettendorf, Iowa, and participated in international volunteer work in high school. Katie plans to attend law school and pursue a career working with immigrants. She enjoys volunteering in the community, taking long drives, reading, and writing.

Past Interns

Mark Schoen- Program Coordinator

Chrissy Hoogland- Program Intern

Channon Greer- Program Coordinator

Maria Kuiper- Communications Intern

Ty Lassen- Program Coordinator

Madison Hunke- Program Coordinator

Mariah Gonzales- Communications Intern

Lucas Fagre- Communications Intern

Alex Dornacker- Program and Operations Intern

Emma Cole- Program and Operations Intern

Yike Fu- Membership Intern

Autumn Seo- Membership Intern

Sarah Sitz- Communications Intern

Mary Elizabeth Snell- Program and Operations Intern

Emma Kaboli- Program and Operations Intern

Ha Young Jeong- Program and Operations Intern

Margaret Goetz- Communications Intern

Yulin Cheng- Program and Operations Intern

Path-konn B. Kombate- Community Outreach Intern

Grace Bryant- Program Coordinator

Emilie Wilson- Communications Coordinator

Tess Knickerbocker- Communications Intern